Backup Management

The created backups can be found in the context menu under Antcas Control Backup Management.

Automatic Backups

It is possible to configure automatic backups individually per server and project. A backup consists of a simple export of the System Configuration or a Project. Optionally, the Statistics and the Data of the project can also be exported. A backup is performed by default every day at 02:00 AM. The configuration for the System Configuration can be found in the Server Properties and for projects, this can be done under the Project Settings or in the Project Configurator.

Note: On the Touch, Pico and Nano servers, no Data and Statistics are backed up. These settings are ignored.

If the server has been offline for more than a day, a backup will be performed one minute after the server starts.

A quota of 20% of the total free storage space is used to prevent the hard drive from being filled. If the quota is exhausted, the oldest backups are removed first. Preferentially first the Statistics, then the Data and finally the Project Data. Last, the System Configurations are deleted.

Backup to the Cloud

There is an option to upload the project and system configuration to the Antcas Hub portal for external backup. To do this, the checkbox "Allow Backup Upload to the Cloud" must be set in the settings. Each backup is performed even without configured remote access. However, without configuration, the backup cannot be accessed.

After performing an automatic backup, it will attempt to upload this to the cloud. This only happens if an internet connection can be established during the backup. The process is not automatically repeated to minimize data traffic. Also, Statistics and Data are not transferred to the Antcas Cloud.

Once uploaded to the cloud, a backed-up backup cannot be simply deleted. This happens automatically after 7 days when another backup is uploaded or if the server is offline for up to 90 days.

Note: The maximum file size is limited to 500 MB and the total storage to 1'000 GB. If the file to be uploaded is larger, the file will not be uploaded. If the maximum storage quota is exceeded, fewer backups will be retained in the cloud.

Restore Backups

By double-clicking on a created backup, it can be directly downloaded. The downloaded backup file can then be imported into another server.

Note: The backup does not replace your own system backups. It is used to restore older versions in case of unwanted manipulations.